• Martin Mullins presenting the cup to John O Neill
  • Killeshin
  • Killeshi FC Captain  Michael McCarthy receives the cup from Bernard Mullin Carlow League
  • Noel Jordan CDFL presents Division one trophy to Crettyard captain David Maher
  • Brian O
  • Bernard Mullins (CDFL) presents O35 Div 2 Cup to Fergal Harmon Slaney Captain
  • Bernard Mullen CDFL present Slaneys Mark Ryan with the man of the match report
  • michael Mullins presenting the man of the match award to Brian Maguire
Carlow League completes most successful Seniors season ever
By Brian O' Reilly

Last Saturday night brought the curtain down on one of the most successful seniors’ seasons ever in Carlow League history. The league had the courage and wisdom to attempt to run a short season at the end of June when lockdown restrictions were lifted and while there was apprehension and unease if the clubs would buy into a season run over 12 weeks instead of 6 months the plan proved to be more successful than anyone could ever have imagined. With a record entry of 16 teams and 5 competitions the nonstop action provided 4 different winners for the 5 competitions. Slaney rovers the only club winning league and cup double as they won both division 2 competitions. Crettyard won the division one league title while St Pat’s Boys in their first season at seniors won the Mullins cup and Killeshin won the Division one cup seeing trophies spread all around the county.

The league announced at the end of May it was interested in running a short season and by the second week of June had received record entries. The 16 clubs were split into two divisions of eight and the league kicked off on the 25th of June. Such was the success of the entries the League decided to run the Martin Mullins cup which is a cup competition for all 16 teams given the division 2 sides a chance to compete against the top sides. The first couple of rounds were played midweek to make sure it didn’t affect the leagues and the semi-finals and Finals played after the leagues. The two divisional cups were run off over three weeks when the leagues finished meaning it took just 16 weeks from start to finish to play the five competitions.

The league campaigns started on the 25th of June and the clubs played every week with just the August bank holiday weekend off meaning that after 9 weeks the two leagues finished on the weekend of the 21st of August with Crettyard winning the division on title for the second time in 3 months having won the delayed 2020 title in early June. The division 2 crown was left to go to a play off after Slaney Rovers and St Fiaccs couldn’t be split after the 7 games finishing level on 18 points each. Again, the two teams agree to play the play off midweek to ensure the cup competitions ran smoothly and some play off it was with penalties needed as Slaney rovers won the league.

The following weekend saw the 16 teams play the 8 divisional quarter finals with the next three weekends seeing the semi finals played and the standard was amazing with division two side St Fiaccs reaching the Mullins cup final knocking out several division sides on the way. It was the first final played and they came up against local rivals St Pat’s in a massive derby game, but it proved to be just one step to far as Pats won the trophy in their first season in the senior’s league. The following weekend saw the two divisional cup finals played with Division 2 sides Slaney and Burrin going head-to-head on a Friday night while the division one final was played Saturday evening concluding five competitions in just 16 weeks thanks to the support and understanding of all the clubs and the local referee’s branch. Slaney rovers completed a remarable season when they beat Burrin by two goals to one to complete a fantastic double for the club. The division on title went to Killeshin who stopped St Pat’s winning a double of their own in a very close game.

The executive committee of the Carlow & District League would like to thank all the clubs and local referee branch for helping them complete a remarkable season in such a short space of time and hope to see another big entry next April for a full season which will hopefully be as successful

Roll Of Honour Seniors o35 2021

Division one champions Crettyard United

Division two champions Slaney Rovers

Division One cup winners Killeshin FC

Division two cup winner Slaney Rovers

Martin Mullins memorial cup winner St Patrick’s boys.

27/09/2021 12:08